I have finally rose from my hungover slumber! I haven’t slept past 9am in months. A part of me wants to be productive and social but another part of me is perfectly content with staying in bed, doing homework, and watching HBO’s amazing Girls.


I can’t really explain, but watching Girls has been a journey for me. For the first few episodes I sort of had this “meh” attitude. I had a bunch of silly superficial questions like, “Why is the main character so…ordinary and only semi attractive? Why can’t she be hot? Why are all these terrible things happening to these girls? Why is the sex really bad and awkward on this show? Do all white people have sex like this?” I was completely bothered because I think mainstream tv made me this way. Anyway, as I moved from episode to episode I felt myself developing a strange liking to the show. It was the same feeling that I had for Freaks and Geeks. There’s just something very raw about this show. These 20 something year old girls with these first world problems. Problems that you don’t necessarily think “Oh quit whining there’s starving kids in Africa.” These really are problems that mess with the person each character has potential of becoming. Watching this show gave me a sort of nostalgia. I’m not that old, I’m only 23. But it made me think of how much bullshit my younger, more naive (I’m still naive, but less stupid. Maybe even scared.) self used to put me through. It’s like you don’t really know what your interests are, but you’re anxious to find out. This is gonna sound corny, but literally letting your heart make the crazy decisions and hoping everything plays out smoothly, which 95% of the time doesn’t happen. But the best part is dealing with it, it’s the worst part, but it’s the most crucial. Kinda like working out. Which reminds me, my body is sore as fuck! Working out is the devil!

Anyway this show is very deep. If you like reality tv shows then you probably won’t get a lot out of this because you’ll have too many superficial worries, plus there’s a lot of dialogue.

Leave a Reply

